If All Else Fails, Cook Your Way Out.

Got very drunk last night with my neighbour, Tim. 

We compared Coruba and Captain Morgan rum, and drank copious quantities of both to be certain of the verdict.  Actually it was pretty plain from the start.  Unanimous conclusion that Coruba is superior.

We talked about a lot of things.  Mostly about being stuck in Fiji away from our families.  Music, stuff like that. 

To accompany the drinks we had nuts, and chips and dip.  Better than a meal. 

Here is a recipe for the excellent nourishing dip that I made from found materials:

Watevas Available dip #1

Half a pot of cream cheese mixed with equal parts sour cream and Best brand mayonnaise
1 packet Pam’s mushroom soup
a few spoons of chopped roasted red capsicum
a handful of olives pitted and chopped,
a small onion chopped,
a squeeze of lemon and/or lime juice
a pinch of mustard powder
a pinch of curry powder
pinch of chili powder
pinch of salt
a spriddle of smoked paprika and another sprinkle on top after it is all mixed
Mix well, cover with gladwrap, leave to mature and chill in the refrigerator, serve with chips or vege sticks. 

WARNING: Eating this with celery and vegetable sticks completely negates any cholesterol risk
– but also destroys the nutritional value of the dip as a comfort food. 


Next day, having rehydrated at 3am with orange juice, I was ok, but somewhat enervated.  Tim had a hangover. 

Bacon and eggs for breakfast.  It is SUNDAY!  Every second Sunday I have bacon and eggs, at least until the bacon is gone. 

Rather than do anything energetic for the remainder of the day, I thought I’d have a day of rest, but then decided to use up the reest of my bunch of bananas that were ripening faster than I could eat them, by making a banana cake. 

I have made banana cakes before by following the Edmonds Cookbook recipe, which i do not have here.  And so I decided to do this one without referring to any recipes or by looking it up on the net. Time to test my skills and see if I can do it completely from my head. 

I am not sure my memory matches the recipe as it should be, at all.  I had a bit of a strain recalling the butter/sugar/flour proportions and I have probably not got it right according to the book.  

But my cake came out alright.   
 
In fact it was pretty good. 

So for next time, here is my Fiji Banana cake recipe – as I made it: 



NOTE the cup I use is a 160 measuring cup for rice. 

  • 75g soft butter (or so – going by the marks on the packet)
  • 6 tablespoons Fiji raw sugar  (I estimate this to be about 120g?)
  • 1 large beaten egg  (maybe 2 next time?)
  • 3 x160ml cups flour (roughly 2 real cups?)
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • I tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup (160 ml) milk
  • 3-4 ripe bananas (could definitely have used more as they were
    the medium Fiji
    size)
  • lemon oil, orange oil, (or zest)
  • lemon juice – a dash.

  • Cream the butter and sugar (sort of. My equipment is primitive).
  • Beat in the egg
  • Mash the bananas and mix in a few drops each of lemon and orange oil,
    (if I could find fruit with clean skins I would use zest of one lemon and one
    orange)
  • add a dash of lemon juice.
  • Add the bananary mess to the mix and stir in
  • add milk then fold in flour and baking powder etc and beat
  • pour into buttered loaf tin
  • (optional sprinkle some raw sugar on top)
  • bake at 180C until risen and browned, and the cake springs back
    when poked. (skewer comes out dry)  about 30-40 mins.
  • cool for a few minutes before turning out on to a wire rack.


More comfort food. 


I am told a "cup" ranges from 180ml (US) to 200ml (UK) to 250ml (Aus)

So that means one should use weights or volumes when borrowing from recipes, to get accurate proportions. 

Beware the recipe that mixes measures!

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

