A Tongan Joke

As I walked around Nuku’alofa, and rode around Tongatapu, the many pigs I saw wandering free reminded me of one of my long forgotten favourite jokes.  It goes like this:

So here I was walking along Fatafehi road, when I encountered a man walking with a pig.  The pig was trotting along beside him, with one wooden leg.  
"That is a sight one does not see often", I said to him.  "How did your pig get a wooden leg?"
"This is a very special pig" the man said. "He saved my life. I was fishing from my canoe out past the point at Ha’atafu, when a sudden wave caught me unawares, and capsized my canoe.  The anchor rope wrapped around my leg, and the anchor stone dragged me down below the surface.  I was tangled up and suspended between the stone and the canoe.  
Luckily this pig was on the shore nearby.  He saw my plight and swam out to where I was.  He dived down, untangled me, lay my limp body over the capsized canoe, pushed it ashore, dragged me up the beach and gave me snout to mouth resuscitation.  This is one amazing pig".
"It certainly is", I said, "But how did he get his wooden leg?"
"But that is not all", said the man.  "After that incident of course, this pig became my best friend, and we go everywhere together.  We are inseparable.  One night we went to Billfish, and I came out a little tipsy.  I was driving the Ministry SUV home, and I fell asleep at the wheel. I would have steered right into the lagoon, but my pig friend, who was in the back seat, leapt over, pushed me into the passenger seat, took control of the car and drove me home.
Luckily it is an automatic. 
He then put me to bed where I woke up in the morning with a terrible headache. 
This is one incredibly clever pig!"


" I fully agree." said I. "But tell me, how did he get the wooden leg?"

"Well, if you had a pig this good, you would not eat it all at once!"

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Political Correctness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Tongan Joke

  1. Alan says:

    Reblogged this on Hodophilia and commented:

    Repeat.

    Like

Please comment!

