I love to go A-Wandering…

Listening to De Dannan this evening as I type a few amendments to a paper I am writing,  I was trying to figure out who the vocalist was to whom I was listening, and who was bringing me so close to tears.  I have not been listening to De Dannan much since I acquired the tracks from a friend. At least not closely.  Usually as background.  I had to check to see who sang with the group at that time, on that album.  At various times Dolores Keane, Maura O’Connell, Eleanor Shanley,  and Mary Black sang with De Dannan.  Having eliminated two for sure, I was still none the wiser whether it was Dolores Keane or Eleanor Shanley, because I am unfamiliar with them both.  Shame on me.  However, after a bit of checking, I found a it was Tommy Flemming who had the affecting voice that I had assumed was a woman’s.

 

Later, I had another surprise.  I had never noticed before that one of the tracks is Nessun Dorma from Turandot,  sung in Gaelic  accompanied by instruments not usually associated with operatic works.   Wow.  How did I miss that before?  Anyway, I digress.  In the process I found a link to the page of someone who has been researching “Danny Boy” and the song’s association with the strange and seemingly not-Irish Londonderry Air  A whole day of reading and link following there…. sometime.

Fascinating…  Great to see references too..

 

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

