Que Sera Sera

Today is the anniversary of my arrival in Fiji.

I celebrated
by crashing the bike again, at the intersection in Nabua, this morning on my way to work.   I am OK, after an unnecessary visit to Suva Private
and a warm salty bath with Dettol. The bike, on the other hand, is not OK. I shall see
on the weekend how badly not. I managed to ride it on to work, and left it there before going to hospital. 
It is not safe to ride. It
needs some straightening in the front, which may be easy enough to fix, or may
not be in Fiji, and of course there are some scratches and scrapes which I can
live with. I’ll check it out on the weekend. A bugger that I kept it
pristine for two years and now it looks beaten up. I had just been looking
into getting a new front tyre for it, as the present one, though still legal, now has 24K clocked up.  I replaced the rear tyre at 18K. . Not sure if it would have made any
difference if I had put on a new one.  My fault anyway. I should have used more back
brake. Greasy road. Stopping for a red light. A moment’s inattention and I missed the amber. I was on the road a tenth of a second after the skid started.  It was that quick.  I should have run the light like everyone else does.

I have a pretty high pain tolerance, and really did not need to go to see a doctor.  He advised me to do exactly what I intended anyway, which was bathe the wounds and apply antiseptic cream, take a painkiller or three and rest until the bruising and stiffness subsided.  In addition he prescribed a prophylactic dose of antibiotic, which I shall not take, but shall store in the fridge until I have need of them to cure something.  I have already commented that there is too much antibiotic prescribing going on.     The good news was I did not have to wait long at the hospital, and time went quickly with some good friendly conversations for a change there, definitely because I had the most heroic injury, and appearance, being all bloody and torn.

In the tumble I had broken my laptop screen too, which i did not find out until an hour or so ago. The computer itself goes ok, and luckily I have a flatscreen at home to use. I will ask SOPAC for one at work. Just
can’t travel with it. Damn
and blast.

No angst. I have become quite fatalistic. Shit
happens.  Fiji has been good for me in that one respect.  I am losing my anal retentiveness over possessions and property.  Just as well, as I have Fuck All left.





About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

