WinMX

Lynne told me WinMX was still running, which surprised me as I had thought it would have fallen into defunct abeyance after the problems of 2005, the ensuing rift amongst users, and the rise of torrents. I think i dropped out early 2008.  However it appears to have kept its place in the community.  The rift was healed following a new patch in 2008, and WinMX is even stated to be a safer form of file sharing than torrents.  

I should get involved again, as I have lost almost all my music. I kept it on a 300Gb external hard drive which died unaccountably on me only a few weeks ago when i was doing a back up of my photos from a drive i suspected might fail, to another drive.  The drive i suspected would fail (it was making rumbling noises) is still going strong, but after the back up the music drive failed catastrophically.  If I plug it into the computer, everything seizes up.  But i digress, I was talking about WinMX and considering  downloading and using it again.  Update: I have just done so and it works fine!

Unfortunately, on thinking it over, I can’t really use it much here. My own G3 connection would quickly go into expensive mode once I exceed the 3Gb monthly limit, which i am just managing to stay inside most months, and using SOPAC’s bandwidth  on something of dubious legality is not ethical.  I do have ethics, even if they do not extend to paying royalties. 
So I shall have to rip my own CDs again for about a third of the music, salvage some from back up DVDs, and wait until I am back on proper broadband for the rest.

Lynne has offered to share some files via a skydrive which will be great.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

