Ae Fond Kiss

I have been listening to Bobby Eaglesham singing one of my favourite Burns songs.  Eaglesham, despite his amazing voice, has barely any references on the web in his own right, but is best remembered with Dick Gaughan in his Five Hand Reel days.
Ae fond kiss, and then we sever;
Ae fareweel, alas, for ever!
Deep in heart-wrung tears I’ll pledge thee,
Warring sighs and groans I’ll wage thee.
Who shall say that Fortune grieves him,
While the star of hope she leaves him?
Me, nae cheerful twinkle lights me;
Dark despair around benights me.

I’ll ne’er blame my partial fancy,
Naething could resist my Nancy:
But to see her was to love her;
Love but her, and love for ever.
Had we never lov’d sae kindly,
Had we never lov’d sae blindly,
Never met-or never parted,
We had ne’er been broken-hearted.

Fare-thee-weel, thou first and fairest!
Fare-thee-weel, thou best and dearest!
Thine be ilka joy and treasure,
Peace, Enjoyment, Love and Pleasure!
Ae fond kiss, and then we sever!
Ae fareweel alas, for ever!
Deep in heart-wrung tears I’ll pledge thee,
Warring sighs and groans I’ll wage thee.

Robert Burns wrote this for a Mrs Agnes MacLehose after their affaire ended, when she set off to try to reconcile with her husband.   

I believe it is the finest of all love songs.  Sir Walter Scott may agree. He said it "contained the ‘essence of a thousand love tales". I like it because it contains not a trace of bitterness, just a rueful acknowledgment that a broken heart is a price one must sometimes pay.
I first heard this song in
1980 on
one of Five Hand Reel’s
albums, For a’
That 

My second favourite song by Burns is Green Grow the Rashes O.
I have a brilliant version by Cherish the Ladies.  I like it most mainly because of the haunting flute melody played (I believe) by Joanie Madden

Chor. – Green grow the rashes, O;
Green grow the rashes, O;

The sweetest hours that e’er I spend,
Are spent amang the lasses, O.

There’s nought but care on ev’ry han’,
In ev’ry hour that
passes, O:
What signifies the life o’ man,
An’ ’twere
na for the lasses, O.

Green grow, &c.

The war’ly race may riches chase,

An’ riches still may fly them, O;
An’ tho’ at last they catch them
fast,
Their hearts can ne’er enjoy them, O.
Green grow,
&c.

But gie me a cannie hour at e’en,

My arms about my dearie, O;
An’ war’ly cares, an’ war’ly men,

May a’ gae tapsalteerie, O!

Green grow, &c.

For you sae douce, ye sneer at
this;
Ye’re nought but senseless asses, O:

The wisest man the warl’ e’er saw,
He dearly
lov’d the lasses, O.
Green grow, &c.

Auld Nature swears, the
lovely dears
Her noblest work she classes, O:
Her prentice han’ she try’d on man,

An’ then she made the
lasses, O.
Green grow, &c.


I just thought I would share that. 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ae Fond Kiss

  1. Pingback: Ae Fond Kiss | Hodophilia

Please comment!

