Simply messing about in boats

Doug and Margot,  two former colleagues from NZ, emailed some time ago and asked me where I recommended they stay while in Suva for a few weeks.  Margot had a short epidemiology project with SPC, and Doug was along for the trip.  I suggested they might like the empty flat next to me, and jacked it up with the landlord.  A win win win situation.  They had comfortable secure accommodation, cheaper than a hotel, with the added bonus of being able to cook.  The landlord gained some income from a flat that has been empty over a month, and I received kudos from both sides for merely acting as a go-between.  Plus I had someone to talk to.  As if that wasn’t enough, Margot and Doug took me out to dinner Saturday night to an excellent Indian Restaurant, and when they  departed this morning they left me with a few things for the pantry. I liked having neighbours.  Can’t count the last one.  Never exchanged two words, and never accepted my offer of a coffee or beer.  I hope the next neighbours are a bit more communicative. 

I made the kayak available to them, of course and I am pleased they used it.  On Saturday Doug and I took it out, AFTER he had returned from a jaunt out to the reef with Margot.  They were off at the crack of dawn all the way out to the reef, and back just after eight.  Then Doug and I went out.  Sad to say I was soon to discover I was not up to paddling that far, or of keeping pace with Doug, but we went cruising, trolling a line with a spinner, on the off chance of encountering a trevalli foolish enough to come into the bay.  Doug was paddling away manfully, and I have to admit at the end I was not pulling my weight or doing my share of impelling at all, as my shoulder began to burn.  Curiously, only the left one.  All the same it was Good Exercise, though perhaps one should not pair up with a superfit athlete when one is just getting back into exercise after a period of sloth and lassitude.  The weather was fine with no wind and the sea calm, so the kayak was a lot easier to manage than when I first took it out.  I shall choose only such days until I am fit enough to cope with the extra pressure. 

On my return, I lost all grip in my left hand, and almost dropped a cup of coffee.  My hand had the tremors until I prepared and ate a good lunch of omelette and toast.  I suppose I should have had more than a coffee and a slice of toast and Vegemite before setting out.   Or maybe I am getting old. 

On Sunday they took the kayak to explore up the river, which by all accounts is navigable a fair distance. I am still determined to do the same soon.  When I do, I shall choose a calm day and pack a picnic.  I shall not get caught with low
blood sugar again.  That’s the trouble with using artificial sweeteners.  They don’t have any nourishment.   I bought some sugar on Sunday, just so I can have a proper coffee before I go paddling next time.  But I digress.   As soon as Doug and Margot moved out today, another couple moved in.  They too are short term and will only be there a month, as they are waiting for another house to be vacated.  They are German, and he is a cameraman and movie director.  They seem very friendly, and accepted a beer. which is a good start. 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

