Get Fit

I made what may prove to be yet another mistake in a very long series, and bought a second hand two-seater kayak from a departing colleague.  It was delivered this morning.  Buying it seemed like a good idea at the time, and I am allowed to pay it off in installments.  I have become unfit and even flabbier than usual since I came here.  Living alone involves a lot of sedentary behaviour – and comfort food. At least the gym at the Ministry had kept me reasonably fit even if not in good shape. I thought I needed some incentive to get some exercise and this seemed to be something I would enjoy.    The kayak is rather large and heavy, but when I hefted it at Paul’s place, I thought I could manage to carry it alone across the road from my front gate to the bay.  In the event, that proved to be difficult, however a friendly local gave me hand to get it into the water.  I found my balance easily enough, and got in, and under way, without any embarrassment, though I now find I definitely prefer a canoe to a kayak.  They certainly handle differently.  The sea was a little choppy and there was a fresh breeze.  I found that it was very difficult maintaining my heading against the wind and waves, and to steer the kayak but the effort needed meant I gave myself a good cardio workout paddling for about an hour until my shoulders demanded that I give up and turn back. I had not got very far, to be honest.  If I want to paddle out to the reef and the sandbank, I am going to have to do better than that.  I expected to feel the exhilaration I used to feel paddling, and I was rather looking forward to getting up to the mangroves at the river mouth but out there in the bay I found myself feeling frustrated and annoyed that the going was difficult, that the wind and waves dictated my direction, and that I was not fit enough even to go the distance all the way up to the river mouth.  Too much, too soon? Maybe.  I headed back, and dragged the kayak back across the road, leaving fine shavings of orange plastic on the rough surface.  I realise that I cannot do that every time.  Maybe I can rig a trolley or a skateboard.  

Back at home I had a cup of tea, and had a little lay down.  5 hours later I awoke in the dark.  I had slept from early afternoon well into the evening.  Needed a rest. 

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get Fit

  1. Glenn says:

    Neat.Kyaks are fun.

    Like

Please comment!

