Phantom Fly

A couple of nights ago, sitting in the tropical twilight gloom, watching television, a fly constantly annoyed me by landing on the same spot on my knee over and over again.  I slapped at it, waved it away, shooed it off, rubbed my knee with the heel of my other leg, and as it became more annoying, I decided something particularly attractive to flies, and therefore probably quite noisome, must have splashed on my knee, because it  returned to the same spot so persistently. 

I went and washed my leg, but shortly after I sat down, it returned again and again. It would go away for a while if I waved my hand at it, or slapped my knee.   I finally sprayed my knee with repellent, still to no avail.  It kept coming back.  I turned on the light and set out to catch it.  Surprise!  No fly.  As I waited for it to return, spray can in hand, I felt it land again.  But I could not see it.  It was not there.  Since then, in bed, at work, anywhere I am sitting or laying inactive, the invisible fly returns and walks around on the same spot on my knee.  There must be some physiological, or psychological,  explanation, but I have just decided to call him Eric the Phantom Phly, and ignore him. Actually I can’t ignore him. He is driving me crazy.  In bed he makes me wonder if he is a bed bug.  He is with me all the time now.

 I often see things that aren’t there, I have since I was a child.  There is supposedly an explanation for that, It is called pareidolia.  If a word can be an explanation.  Everyone has it, it is hardwired into our brains, but it seems I am really good at it. A pareidolic I suppose.    Now I am feeling things too. 

What is it called when one feels things that aren’t there? 

I wonder if the Voices will return? 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Phantom Fly

  1. Glenn says:

    Theres also a medical explanation which I’m too lazy/busy to track down.Nerve junctions sometimes enter a "stuck on" state and fire repeatadly as the charges across the synapse(oh-look-prytty words) rebuild.Alternativly you might be getting haunted by the vengful spirit of a fly you killed in a previous incarnation.I sugest you ask Shirly McClean for assistance.As for the voices ,do what they tell you unless it involves sharp things.

    Like

Please comment!

