Alert

Just before 3 am this morning, my phone awoke me.  I had a text advising of a tsunami watch.  I figured it was far too early to watch tsunamis, and calculated I could get a little more sleep before fleeing up the hill.  So I did.  I debated lugging all my hard drives up the hill with me, and decided against it. 

I need not add that the waves that licked our shore were scarcely the stuff of nightmare.  Nonetheless I shall continue to take the warnings seriously.

As it happens, I had to come into the office anyway, to do some catching up, because Monday is a holiday and Friday was also a sort of day off.  At least, I didn’t get any work done on Friday, so that is a holiday.  The whole water section at SOPAC went for a day trip to Nukulau Island, about a 20 minute boat ride out to the reef from Suva Point.  There we had a  snorkel, a lovo picnic, and some team building exercises and games, finishing off with a quite pleasant swim.  It was a good day.  Marc even let me take the mu Tough into the water so I managed to get some underwater photos, as well as some around the island with the Sony DFC 828, recently re-aquired.  Did I mention I have my camera back at last?

You can see some of the photos I took, on my Facebook page, HERE.  It is a pain uploading to this blog, as I have to do it 5 pix at a time, and I haven’t the time to do it now, or the bandwidth to do it at home.  It is much easier on Facebook. 

There was quite a bit of evidence that Nukulau island is shrinking. Trees are growing out on the beach but were obviously once surrounded by grass, and at the seaward side, I found remains of buildings standing in what is now the littoral zone.  Mangroves are growing where I suspect it was once high and dry.

On the smaller next island over, Makuluva, one can see the remains of a rain tank and a radio mast, now inundated twice daily by the tide, but which were once in the middle of that island. Also, on the way in, we saw near the reef, a sand island which I am told moves around a bit, and shrinks and grows.  Currently it looks just like a sandbank, but in the past I understand it had grown considerably, had vegetation growing on it, and was seemingly  pretty stable, until a storm washed it away. 

In this photo, on the left of Makuluva Island you can see the tank and radio mast that were once right in the middle of the island, now getting wetted by the tides.  The future of the Pacific in microcosm?

Speaking, as I was in my last blog entry, of the FSM, he manifested on the beach at Nukulau, possibly as a reassurance that he is watching over his faithful follower. 

Touched by His Noodly Appendage!  Ra-men!

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

