Enough to be Dangerous.

My old recovered laptop had been played with by whoever aquired it from the thief, – I assume the pawnshop owner the police busted.   I did manage to get it going at first with recovery.  It ran for a while and I even managed to access the internet, but it kept reporting "missing dll file" errors.  I tried to recover my data,
mainly the photos I thought I had left on it, but I could not find
them.  Also half the programmes I had installed were gone. How they
managed that beats me.  S
o after fiddling around a bit, I tried reverting to a previous recovery point.  Naturally I stuffed it up, and after that it would not boot at all.  All my attempts to reinstall to the original recovery point over the weekend were to no avail.  So poor old Daryl in IT has it now, to reimage it.  I did have enough sense to do a full back up onto DVDs with the recovery manager, and if that worked, anything on board should still be recoverable, but I will let Daryl do it.  It seems I know just enough to be dangerous.   

I have been working jointly with a colleague on a paper on desalination,  examining its potential for use in the Pacific.  The conclusion we  reach is "maybe, but there needs to be a sustainability plan, with a budget".

In
order to ensure sustainability, it is essential that desalination should be
introduced where it is needed, after a full cost benefit analysis (including
comparative analysis of alternatives) and with a sustainability plan that
includes a full cost recovery process, including maintenance and planning for
replacement over the expected life of the plant.  The sustainability plan must include
allowance for continued ongoing training of staff, and appropriate budgeting
for maintenance and capital replacement.  

 

Of course I could not resist the time honoured conclusion that most papers include these days : "Need for further study ( i.e. funding)".


The authors recommend that a more in-depth study be undertaken of
all known desalination units in the Pacific, to attempt to identify the factors
which contribute to their success or failure. 
This information can be used to ensure the viability of any
sustainability plan developed when commissioning a future plant.  

 
That might get one of us some interesting trips! 

I have been so busy on that, organising training and replacement equipment for Palau, and other bits and pieces, such as a revew of the 10 Village DWSPs in Tonga, that I have not had time to get out and about with my camera. I go home in the evening and crash on the couch.  Even worked on the weekend.  Hopefully I can rectify that soon, and take some photos.  In fact we have a team building day trip out to Nukulau Island on Friday. That should be fun. 

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Enough to be Dangerous.

  1. Glenn says:

    Whats needed IMHO is a stand-alone plant with a MTTF of 500,000Hrs,inbuilt power supply and high voltage anti tamper seals.

    Like

Please comment!

