Dinner at Daikoku

A pleasant evening last night with three colleagues who kindly invited me out.  We dined at Daikoku a Japanese restaurant where they serve great food, cooking it on the table before you.  Not cheap, but a really nice treat. For almost $50 I overindulged on seafood tempura and a fantastic blue steak, accompanied by hot Nihonshu (sake)

As it happened, the Interim PM came in as we were almost done, and sat to dine at our table, I was tempted, but I did not point the camera at him.  Did I mention I have a camera again? 

Afterward we went to O’Reillys which is a popular bar and very noisy, unfortunately not with Irish music.  They serve Guinness there, but I had a Vonu, which is an excellent Fiji lager that is quite popular with those who can afford it.  A handle costs nearly double the usual local beers, but it is well worth it.  It is light and refreshing with a hint of fruit and rivals
Monteiths best Summer Ale from NZ, or at least my memory of it.  What a nice idea to taste them together.

The youngsters I work with appear to do this night out thing quite frequently, but they are young, single and carefree.  I will be sticking mainly to the more economical dining at home.  It was nice, though, to get out for once and to celebrate my minor victory over the police and the burglars. 

I put some photos up on Facebook, here.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

