Photo opportunities.

My regular pilgrimage to the Raiwaqa police station met with the usual response.  I have noticed they regularly ask how long I am staying in Fiji, and I am beginning to suspect they intend to wait me out.  Today an officer named Tui asked me the same question and then blatantly suggested that when I left I might like to give him the camera.  I said it looked to me as if he already had it.  He looked slightly alarmed, and assured me it was safely locked up.  I went through once more my litany of how much I needed it.  and demanded that they give it back, pointing out as usual that I needed it for work etc… and adding that I also needed my clothing and shoes, as I could not afford to replace them having been screwed by my ex landlord. 

He promised to consult and call me back.  Yeah right. 

I am still hopeful of getting the 828 back eventually, but maybe I am doomed.  I am feeling very fatalistic and fey lately. 

I was particularly
resentful of the camera’s absence a few nights ago as I watched an amazing
giant red moon rise over Laucala Bay. 
The moon was full and I don’t believe I have
ever seen it looking so big or so red as it was just after it rose that evening.  Silhouetting a
tropical palm, it would have made a great shot. 

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Photo opportunities.

  1. Alan R says:

    ah. life. L-DTTMAL!

    Like

  2. Glenn says:

    Not that this will make you feel any better,but the most valuable thing ever left in my cab was a at-the-timetop of the line Nikon SLR.I knew who had left it as I had just returned to the city from dropping him at the airport.The pax was a charming Japanese gentleman who had told me that he was going into a new job on his return home and that he would not be able to travel again for several years.Naturaly I took the camera to Auckland central police and got a receipt for it.The officer was at pains to point out that if it was not claimed in three months I could collect it but would have to return it if the owner ever asked.Fair enough.So,three months later I returned,handed over the receipt and asked if the item had been claimed.A quick check on the computer showed that it had not.The cop went away "out the back" and returned about ten minutes later to say that the camera was not there.No explanation just a flat stare and "It’s not there."I asked for the receipt back and was told "No.We’ll keep that.You can go now."Your police. Here to help. Themselves.

    Like

Please comment!

