Insult to Injury

Still recovering at home with some nasty weeping grazes and bruises that make me both stiff and sore and uncomfortable sitting or lying down.  The quality of sleep has deteriorated again.  Still, pain and discomfort seem quite familiar to me these days.

To add insult to injury  I made contact yesterday with a young chap who had my passports.  He
contacted Suma in NZ, who skyped me to let me know his phone number.  I
got in touch with him, and as he works just up the road at Flagstaff, I went to
see him.  He told me he had found the passports at a bus stop at
Raiwai, as it turns out, the day after they were stolen!   Probably
that’s where the thieves went through their spoils and divvied up.  Needless
to say, he did not find any of the other items taken. 




I
regret that I was not particularly grateful, in fact, thinking about
it, I was rather ungracious.  Probably excessively so.  I felt anger at
the fact it took him four weeks to do something.  Why it had taken him so long?


He told me he had to wait until he could call New Zealand (my home number in the back of the passport).  I pointed out that if he found them in Fiji, it was likely I was in Fiji, and in fact it was pretty obvious they had been stolen and it would have been better had he contacted the police, who may have been able to follow up with their investigation, or he could even have contacted the High Commissions, who could have contacted me.  Since I had reported them stolen, and sent off for replacements, these were actually of no use to me.  Lesson learned: put a local address card in with the passports.  I believe I had in fact, but it was probably thrown away. 

Even so, a moment’s thought on my benefactor’s part would have surely resulted in a more sensible plan of action.

I went and passed the information on to the Police at Raiwaqa and while I was there, harassed them a bit more for the return of my camera clothes and shoes. Since the bike prang, I am one more shirt and pair of strides down. 

Still pending.  Fuck this. 

Ever the optimist, I riffled through the pages of the passports, as if there might actually be a possibility of the US banknotes still being there.  People are not rational sometimes. 

That is the lesson of the day. 

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Insult to Injury

  1. Alan R says:

    I deleted them….

    Like

  2. Glenn says:

    And just to add more insult 柏亨 has pasted silly links to your journal.

    Like

Please comment!

