SHOULD HAVE

I know. 
I should have insured.  I know.  I know, I know.  But every penny counts right now, and I sincerely thought I had the place secured after the last time. 

BUT  when the police start into me with should haves, I need to bite my tongue. 

"You should have called in and told us you were going out".   

Well, no, actually, I am not taking responsibility for this crime.  Not even partially.  Leaving a window open or a door unlocked may be stupid, and accountable, but I did not do that.  The house was secured, alarmed and impossible to enter without doing some serious damage.   I should not have needed to do anything. 

The bottom line is that a dishonest person robbed me.  I should have been able to go out and leave my door open, and come home to find everything I possess safe and untouched.  Yeah, right, like that’s gonna happen.

Since the second burglary, I ride or walk past the police station whenever I go out (even though it is the opposite direction from my direct route to work) and each time I wave at the coppers as I pass.  I did that last Wednesday evening.  That surely signifies I am not at home, and equates to calling in and formally advising them I am going to be out?   The funny thing is, everyone else advises me never to tell the cops when I am not home.

Even assuming they would, can I really expect some cop to start patrolling near my house every time I leave it?  He would have had to be quick off the mark last Wednesday anyway, as accounts of when the neighbours heard my alarm go off suggest that the burglars were in the house within half an hour of my departure, which adds to the belief they were watching.  I suspect that once they were sure I had not just nicked up to the shops for a bottle of milk, they were in.  Having a policeman wander by now and then only means that the robbers would have to keep tabs on one more person.  The only real option in that regard, is to have a security guard on site.  Even at $2.50 an hour I can’t afford that whenever I am away from the house.  No, it’s time to move. 

I may have already identified two possible places to move to, one of which is a small fenced cottage right across the road from the police post.  The other is a very secure nearby apartment in a secure compound.  Following up on them tomorrow. 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SHOULD HAVE

  1. Alan R says:

    Good point.. Sorry I am unable to pay rates/tax/registration fees, due to insufficient resources…. Your request has been placed in a priority queue….

    Like

  2. Glenn says:

    The same thing here with notices in carparks warning us to lock the car,dot leave anything visable,get six guard dogs etc etc.I always want to tell the next cop I see "GET OFF YOUR ARSE AND DO YOUR JOB!Funy how if you have power over others your excuse of "insufficient resources" is acceptable.If a private citizen makes that excuse god help them.

    Like

Please comment!

