Another Day at Home.

I wanted to do all sorts of things these holidays. Like fishing at night, exploring the backblocks,  going out on the town once in a while.   I feel like I can’t go out now without
worrying about what will be gone when I get back. No more movies.  I have not been more than 15 minutes away from the house since Wednesday night.  I am even worried about going to work on Monday. 

I thought twice would be all I’d have to face, but this last robbery demonstrates that it is always merely a matter of time.     I have lost thousands
of dollars of hard earned stuff, not insured, dammit, and not replaceable in some instances.  All the photos I have taken in the last 2 months, for example.   The little back up drive is gone.  My passports, my flash drives, my Parker fountain pen, my notebooks, my second pair of glasses, untold other things, all in the backpack they took. 

As you can guess I am distressed
about it.   Definitely leaving this house. But at this stage, I am asking myself " Do I want to stay in Fiji"? 

I shall find a new place to live here first, but in the medium term I think I may start looking for a job in a civilised country.

Problem is I need somewhere to go. I didn’t think I would
have to worry about that until around this time next year. Australia I think.  Time to go to a land that looks after its elderly, seeing as I am rapidly becoming one. 

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

