Wednesday Feck Feck Feck.

Wednesday was a pretty good day until ten minutes before the end. A long walk with Frankie the dog in the morning, we explored the mangroves at low tide.  I found a good spot to sit and contemplate while Frankie explored happily.  There are mudskippers here, the little fish I enjoy so much.  Frankie enjoyed chasing them fruitlessly.  They are vey tiny compare to their Gizo cousins, but just as frenetic.  I also saw those tiny mudcrabs with the single enormously outsize claw in bright noddy car yellow. A slight movement and they vanish magically, only to slowly re-emerge a moment or so later.

It was sad however to see the mangrove roots festooned with plastic bags, rags and discarded underwear, and the tide line littered with plastic bottles bags, ice cream and other containers and dozen of other forms of rubbish.  In the park I discovered that everyone who had gone there for a picnic had just got up and walked away when they were done, leaving everywhere heaps of plastic and paper plates, paper bags, McDonalds and KFC containers.  After the immaculate attitudes Palauans have for their environment I began to feel that taken as a whole, the Fijian people deserve to buried alive in their own refuse.  That was a depressing thought as the individuals I know are all good people.  Yet everywhere here is the same; they just drop their shit and leave it.

I spent the afternoon sitting under a fan, finishing off my Palau mission report, ready to print and send to the boss on Monday.

Feeling that I deserved a reward for labouring in the holidays, in the evening I rode into Suva to go to the movies.  I saw Avatar, which I enjoyed very much.  It is first 3D movie I have seen that I really appreciated the effects.  I went to a late session, that started at 8.50 and did not let out until around 11 30 or later.  It is a short journey home and I arrived a little after 11.50.  I had been gone less than four hours.

And I had been burgled again.

They jimmied the door from the deck to my bedroom, ripping the deadlock from the timber and bending the sliding bolts. They took my new SOPAC laptop, which i had only just got to replace the one stolen in August.  And of course once again I have lost all the work on it. This time they took my back up drive too. They damaged the connection to the external monitor.   They took my own Lenovo laptop, waiting to be sent off for service.  My new underwater torch is gone.  My new backpack, bought in Hawaii, and its contents, which included my passports and some cash.  And the new cross trainer shoes I had just bought on Sunday, to replace those stolen in the last burglary, which I had bought to replace the ones stolen in the burglary before that.

I have just gone up to SOPAC to get the old borrowed laptop I was using before, and which it seems is destined to be my purgatory still.  It is such a slow low memory heap of junk that it is barely better than none at all.

I am totally fucked off with Fiji.  And that is all I have to say about that.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

