Christmas Day

So, I know you are dying to know what was in my present.  It was Guylian!  The Opus assortment. Thanks Chelsea, I hope you are having fun in Costa Rica!  How long can I hold out before I remove the cellophane seal?

Breakfast:  at 4 am I awoke feeling fiercely hungry.  Plainly not enough to eat last night.  So at 4.20 I made a three egg omelette with red pepper, smoked marlin and cheese, salt and pepper.  I fried it in a little Black and Gold brand Canola cooking spray, in my little omelette sized round bottomed frying pan, but somewhat spoiled the idea of the spray by serving it with a warmed buttered bun.  The omelette was perfect, folded, still a little runny in the middle and suffused with that delicious smoked fish flavour.  Omelette King, me.

Second breakfast:  10.30 am – A few pieces of left over tapioca in the fridge.  The lady who sells tapioca chips at work had told me the secret of her batter, and I replicated it.  Deep fried in a mix of vanasparti and canola, they came out perfect, but a little greasy.  Pan not hot enough?  So I ate only a couple, with some of my rapidly dwindling plum sauce made about 5 years or so ago.  I am out of  tamarind sauce. 

I shall have to skip elevenses, and probably lunch, so the next food will be coffee and biscuits at tiffin, and later this evening I shall have smoked chicken, salad and potato salad, and bread.  I have a little plum pudding but I am guessing it will sit until I feel in need of a wee treat with custard. 

I have a small Christmas cake for sharing – don’t fancy it myself – and some of the very delicious and incredibly cheap FMF Oaties coconut biscuits, which come in 500g bags for only $3.  I bought two bags so I can shae and still have plenty for myself. 

If the anticipated but probably shouldn’t-be-expected Solomon visitors don’t show up, I shall be eating smoked chicken and marlin, salad and biscuits all week. 

I have a feeling Frankie will get the rest of the chips.  I am off greasy food, except for butter on my bread and porridge.  I hope she is not fussy. 

For nibbles I have mixed fruit and nuts, some macadamias I bought in Hawai’i, the biscuits of course, and I was lucky to find the last 500g bag of dried apricots in Cost U Less for only $7.  A bargain.  I did not get any crystallised ginger, chocolate, mince pies,  turkish delight, or other festive fare, as it was all horrendously costly, but I did grab a stick of nutty nougat. I also have the Guylian chocs now. 

Even so, I have far too much for me, but it will all keep. 

And that is Christmas.

Food.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

