Home Again

Here I am at home in Suva. 

The previous entry reflects both my state of exhaustion, and the fact that I was typing it at 3 am in the dark on the veranda of my Hostel room in Hawai’i.  By the time We finally reached Nausori yesterday, I believe I may have been the most exhausted I have been since those back-scratching nights of June’s pregnancy over 21 years ago. 


I
came home
to a freezer full of smelly stuff as a result of the power having been off for three days after the cyclone.  Shit happens.  
   I had to clean it out despite wanting only to shower and sleep. I stuffed decomposing chicken and vegetables down the crab holes.   Happy crabs and birds, not so happy
me. Then there was another power cut for  a short while, and I continued by candlelight.  Once the freezer was all cleaned out, and given a Janola wipe down, the power came on and I put all my clothes in the washer. I had half a can of beans for tea
and a shower.  I waited until the laundry could be hung out, and utterly exhausted, I headed for bed.  I believe I had slept only about three hours in
the previous 48, not counting the fitful constantly interrupted dozing on the plane which
did nothing for me, and in fact left me feeling more jaded than I recall feeling for a very long time, with burning eyes and pounding head.   I slept instantly and deeply. 


This morning, much better.  The crabs have happily cleaned away the remnants of the freezer disaster.  The sun arose golden over the island across the lagoon, I have filled my beloved coffee cup, and I can face the world once more. 

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

