Frustration

This morning I repeated my regular pilgrimage to the Raiwaqa police station and spoke to Panapasa, the Crime Writer.  That is the title of the person who prepares prosecutions for the police.  The supplication was the same; "May I have my stuff back?  I need it.  Three weeks ago I submitted a written request explaining my need, and I have been waiting for someone to consider it.  I am off to Palau on the weekend, I need my shirts, my shoes, a bag, and most of all, my camera."

The person who makes the decision is away at a funeral.  Can you come back on Monday? 

I just explained I will be out of the country.  Are you seriously telling me that when a senior official goes on leave he leaves no one with delegated authority? 

No answer, just a sheepish look.

Your property is safe, I can take you down and show it to you….

I trust you.  (!!!)  I am not concerned right now about that.  I am sure it is safe.  The point is that it is safe with you, not with me.  Would you phone this person, apologise for disturbing him and explain that I am desperate?  I need some clothes, shoes and a camera! 

Having done my best to convey the urgency, I said i would follow up in the afternoon, and left before I started shouting, and leaving Panapasa, I hope, with a feeling that he had better do something. 

No wonder my BP is up.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frustration

  1. Glenn says:

    You forewent "I’ll be back."

    Like

Please comment!

