Wake up

I will not hear a word against Fiji doctors.  I have had occasion to have two checkups since arriving in Fiji, the second this morning. I also visited my Wellington  GP when I was back in NZ in September.  The two different GPs I have seen at the Suva Private Medical practice in Suva are outstanding.  They listen in a way I do not believe a NZ GP has for me since we had to leave the wonderful Dr Ah Chan in Auckland 15 years ago.  Today I finally had the peculiarities of Prinzmetals’ Angina explained to me, something about which I have never been able to learn anything, even on the web.  The good news is that it has not been bothering me since I came here, neither has my arthritis.  Also good is that I am happy with my doctors.  The bad news is I need them.  BP was up to a horrendous 168/114 at 8 this morning, though it  subsided after 30 minutes to 160/110.  However compared to 118/84 last year, 124/90 just before I came to Fiji, and 126/94 in September, it seems to be telling me something.  Walks, early morning swims, less time vegging out in front of the laptop.  More  scary than the diagnosis was the pharmacy bill.  My supply of pills for the next two months cost me $132Fj – about $90 NZ, compared to $12 in NZ for three months supply.  Can’t blame Fiji for that, but NZers should appreciate more the benefits they enjoy.  

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

