Aloo Mutter a la Fiji = My way

Discovered this dish, in the form of a frozen retort pouch heat and serve meal last week. 

Liked it, but thought I could do better.

I did, and here is the recipe.

Aloo Mutter a la Fiji = My way   I could eat this all day. 
It must be the Irish in me…

 

  • 4
    Potatoes
  • 1/2
    cup Peas – fresh or frozen – guess which I used.     
  • 1
    tin of tomatoes.
  • 1
    tblsp tomato paste
  • 2-3
    Onions
  • 1
    cup coconut cream (or thick Yoghurt? maybe I will try that). 

(should be water and curds or
Paneer,  – I suppose this could actually
be not authentic) One does what one
can with what one has. 

  • 3cm
    Piece of Ginger or a tablespoon Ginger paste     
  • 2-5 red chillies  I had no green ones – which are in the original ingredients.(see above)
  • Chilli
    powder to taste
  • Salt        
  • ½
    tsp tumeric
  • 1
    tsp garam masala
  • 1
    tsp Cumin Seeds 
  • 1 tbsp
    Butter/ghee/vanaspati  (oil?)
  • Water
    as (if) required
  • Chopped
    coriander leaves.  

 

Peel & cube the Potatoes put in a pot, cover with cold
water, add salt and bring to the boil, simmer for no more than two minutes.

Turn off the heat and drain the potatoes.  Leave to stand while you:

Chop the tomatoes, put aside.

Chop the onion and ginger finely, 

Fry the onion and ginger until it is turning a golden brown

Add spices, chillies, tomatoes and paste,

Stir and cook for a couple of minutes

Add coconut cream (or yoghurt) & stir in.

Add peas, potatoes,

Simmer very gently, stirring, for about 5 minutes, or until
potatoes are just done.  Add water if
necessary to thin the gravy,

Serve with chopped coriander leaves on top, if that is what you
like.   I can take them or leave them, but I found some at the market, so I gave it a go.

 On second thoughts, I should have added the peas just before serving, and heated through.  Will next time.

 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

