T’was a Sunny Day

A busy day.  Up at 5 AM, housework, Laundry, oiled and polished the bike, cleaned out the birdnest from the eaves.  It was too messy and all the crap is coming into my room when the door to the deck is open. That meant I had to dismantle and remantle the eaves.  So I needed a hammer.  I went hunting, and found I could either pay $45 for a Stanley, or $7.60 for a Chinese one. Difficult decision.  I could not believe the amount of twigs, grass, plastic bags, foil, string, gum wrappers and other stuff that mynah had stashed up there.  Fortunately she had not laid eggs yet so I did not feel too cruel.  I boarded up the access hole, so she could not start again in the same place.  That done I started to make myself a spear, for fish, which started me thinking I would really like some fresh fish instead of frozen marlin.  It was still barely 11AM so I took my shiny bike in to the Suva fishmarket. What a variety.  I wished I had a camera, which reminds me, my burglar should have appeared in Court yesterday, if he showed up, so I must call in to Raiwaqa Police Station on Monday, and start hassling to get my stuff back.  But I digress…

What a variety of fish.  I wished I had a camera with me.  Many I recognised; Barracouta, Grouper, Parrotfish,  Trevalli, Wahoo, Waloo and more.  Many were unfamiliar, some were long and snake like, some colossal, many tiny and strung together in bunches.  A whole grouper was $75, a whole Barracouta $40.  Some of the more interesting fish much cheaper, but it was a hot day, and despite the fact most of the vendors were making an effort to keep the fish iced and shaded, in the end I decided against buying fish.  A nice day for riding back around the coastal road past Nasese with the sea beside me, bike gleaming, small boys waving. 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

