Facebook Soundbites

This must be what
passes for Spring in Fiji. I have birds nesting noisily in my eaves and
there has been a Hatching – dozens of tiny gekkos are scampering
playfully around the house. I have to be careful with all the doors so
I don’t squash any.
  I really like those little critters. 

I
met a nice young man from Solomon Islands today. Hefford, from Madou. He is on secondment
here for a while. I guessed he was a cuzzy, and the expression on his
face was priceless when I spoke to him in Roviana. Turns out he definitely is related both to Ziu and to Glo, as well as the Tausingas…  Small world..
.  

Wednesday.
My favourite day. Though only every second one is payday, on each and
every one I come home to a clean fresh smelling house, with clean sheets
to slip between after my shower.  Not, mind you, that the house ever gets particularly dirty or untidy…  There are no women here so it is all well organised, clothes put away, lounge tidy, floor swept, bathroom organised, toilet clean, and  the dishes are done straight after every meal.  Everything has a place, and can be found in it.  But on Wednesdays the cleaning lady comes and puts a little extra spit and polish on everything.  The floor cleaner she uses leaves a nice fragrance, and best of all, the bed has clean sheets,.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

