Very Quiet Lately

Not a lot going on at present really.  Get up, go to work, go home, eat, go to bed, sleep, get up, go to work….

On Saturday I sought out the famous Dorothy’s steamed pork bun and can now state that is is justly famous.  As good as any I have had, and better than most.   On a scale of 1 to 10, where the Auckland Mangere Bridge pork bun held the previous high score of 8.1, I would give these an 8.6.

After brunch I joined the SOPAC team at the Forum Secretariat Inter Agency Mini Olympics.

A lot of fun. Though some SOPAC team members were clearly out to have fun and did not take things as seriously as (for example) the US Embassy staff, who had the usual American approach to competition, and attitude about winning. 

I was in the tug of war team.  Because of my enormous strength, I assume.  We fought manfully, won the first heat, and lost the second in a rematch against team US, who,frankly, were not very sporting.  We actually won the tug, The ref had signalled our victory as the tape on the rope reached our marker.  The Americans were not convinced and continued tugging, Most of us had relaxed on the ref’s signal, so we were almost pulled off our feet. A couple of (drunk) colleagues leaped in to help, but too late.  I did not think it mattered since we had already beaten the Yanks, but they had other ideas. 

When the Americans were told we had won they lodged a protest, saying we had more than ten on the rope.  We were disqualified  at first, but in fact we had only picked up the extras after the Americans cheated so we felt a little aggrieved.  Then somehow it was declared there should be a rematch, which I am sad to say the US won hands down.  They were fired up by righteous indignation, we were only there for fun.  

Despite our
alleged reputation for drunkenness and cheating, SOPAC still came second
overall in the games, losing to Team US and SPC, who shared the winner’s trophy this
year.

I got allegedly drunk on beer and kava. Fiji beer is not bad from an icy bin on a hot day,  Kava grows on one, though I still have grave doubts about the hygiene aspect. 

Being allegedly drunk is
curiously similar to being really drunk.
 

The only problem was that I was supposed to go to a housewarming party that evening, but I was asleep at the time I should have gone. Beer and kava combine well if you want to get allegedly paralytic. 


About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

