Back to the main subject

I can’t seem to go long without mentioning food.  

I did not get my grocery shopping done on the weekend, due to time constraints, beer and kava, and the fact that my favourite butcher is closed on Sunday. 

I needed to get my fortnightly stock-up of meat, eggs, onions and greens. Since the butcher at Flagstaff is not open on Sunday, I left it all until he was. There is an MH supermarket next door to him, and I can knock it all off in one hit, passing Cost U Less on the way back if I need to call in there too for the odd items MH doesn’t have. 

So I went to Flagstaff after work this evening. 

I discovered Wahley the butcher has
smoked marlin!  He smokes it himself.  It looks like pale smoked salmon.  I could not resist. I have not seen any smoked fish since I have been here, and I have been missing it.  For less than $10 I bought about 800g.  Enough for four serves.  This evening I had a smoked marlin and cheese omelette, on a toasted bun.  Just a little oregano and pepper to season it.  Heavenly.  As good as smoked salmon any day, and lot cheaper.  If I was not cooking for one, I would make a kedgeree with the rest, but I cannot do that kind of thing for a single.  I would make a huge pile, and have to freeze it.  I’d be having it for weeks until I was sick of it.  So, as I have enough marlin for four meals, I froze two portions, and tomorrow I might just try making a little cheese bechamel and have marlin in bechamel on toast for breakfast.  If I can get up in time.  I wish I had some bay leaves though.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to the main subject

  1. Alan R says:

    In the end I just had it with cream cheese and a warm fresh bun. (or two).

    Like

  2. Alan R says:

    Only with the right cheese!

    Like

  3. Glenn says:

    That would be Mornay?{Insufferable smirk.}http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mornay_sauce

    Like

Please comment!

