Four Months

One sixth of my sentence completed.  I am beginning to get an idea of what this job is really about, and where I might take it. Today was another full day, and a little different from the routine. From ten until 12 I helped man (person) a stall at the Peace Corps’ information day.  All the Fiji Peace Corps volunteers were gathered for meetings, and there is an opportunity for NGOs and agencies to display their wares so to speak, and show off what we do and how we might be of service.  The stall was mainly  SOPAC WASH coalition, but i went along hoping to be useful, and spent a lot of time talking to people who are grappling with village water supply issues.   Interesting to hear what the volunteers are up to.  What really surprised me, is that despite the technological advances of the last 25 years, at the village level, very little has changed since I was out in Western province all those years and half a lifetime ago.   


After a lunch break, spent looking for a post office, I met with my WHO counterpart and WASH partner to thrash out our revised logical framework for drinking water safety planning.  That is why i am beginning to get on top of the job.  I am coming to understand the thinking and the approach of my predecessors. 

It helps a lot that my WHO counterpart is one of my predecessors.  

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

