New Outlook

It was a pretty good day yesterday.
At lunchtime I rode into Suva to pay my Vodafone G3 account.  I could have done it online, but…
Then I rode around Queen Elizabeth Drive/Road, called in at home to collect my Tapioca Truffles.  I shared them round the office, where they received praise beyond my estimation of them. 

In the evening, after work I naturally enough went for a ride.  I rode along The King’s and Queens Roads, all the way out to Navua, about 40K from home.  It took quite a while but was just the therapy I needed.  When I returned, I realised that the House At Suva Point is somewhere to come home to now, not a prison from which I need to escape. 

Emptied the tank, and barely had enough to get home, though I did not need the reserve.  I shall have to keep an eye on that.  Gas stations are not that common out of town.  I also noticed that the low octane fuel here affects the performance of the bike quite significantly.  As well as being less grunty, which is no big deal considering the 80K max speed limit and the state of the roads, I found that I get less mileage per tank.  on 95/98 in NZ I was getting around 360Km per 16 liter tankful, whereas my first tank of whatever rating it is here has barely got me 270K.  There is no choice.  Fiji has only "regular". 


On my return to the house I had a little epiphany.

 I realised I had become trapped in my own head.  It was not until I came back from my ride I realised  now that I am free to go where and when I wish, my attitude has already changed.  I saw I was now looking at my currentplace of residence as "home" rather than as a prison from which there was no escape. 


So, it is evident that over the last few months my motorcycle had become a symbol of gloom, rather than of fun.  My inability to use it had reflected on all my other activities, or lack thereof.   

Other people get out and about without their own transport.  I made mine a shackle.  

It is all in the mind. Which seems trite, but in fact makes it all the more powerful. 

I didn’t go for a ride this evening, because I can if I want to.


About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

