A Perfect Day

Great weather today. Hot, sunny, blue skies, calm warm ocean, 

I missed most of it.  After breakfast at 9.30 I went back to bed, listening to Stevie Nicks, and I slept until one . 

At one I arose, saw the day had developed as a day should and that the tide was high.  I fished for a while, caught nothing, swam, and did not dissolve in the alleged pollution.  The water was warm and silky.  Why did I wait so long to swim here? 
Because I was going to bike to nicer places elsewhere
Oh yeah…. 

I polished the bike again.  Amazing how grubby it gets not being ridden.  It will be ready when the big day comes. I noticed some signs of salt spray, and a few rust spots.  Cleaned it all up with cleansers and metal polish.  Two more coats of carnauba and she is shiny and raring to be released.

I prepared garlic and lime couscous with peas and capsicum, to accompany my Morroccan Chicken Breast.  Then I fancied something sweet, which is fairly unusual for me.  I tried to recreate a traditional colonial tapioca pudding. I grated the tapioca and boiled it.  Not sure if i did it right.  At first it turned out somewhat similar to wallpaper paste in appearance, texture and taste.   I added coconut cream and Fiji Sugar. Much better.  Then some lemon juice and orange oil, a bottled alternative to zest.   Perfection.  Sweet orange tapioca. Very good.  Well – it’s a bit glutinous, but I like it.  And anyway, I have had a brainwave.  Tomorrow I shall get some desiccated coconut and mix it in.   I should be able to roll it into balls.  I wonder if cardamom….?

I, am now on my fourth beer.  Feeling somewhat tired, if not squiffy.  I think I shall start a movie and go to bed.

Outside it is raining.  The perfect end to a perfect day.  



About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

