The Eyes of the Ranger are upon You.

I
just ate half a packet of Oreos with a cup of coffee while watching
"Walker – Texas Ranger" on Fiji One.

Life don’t get much more exciting
than that.

Once a week, usually on Friday,  I turn on the TV.  For an hour at most.  That’s about all I can take.   TV gives me something to yell at.  I hate the fatuous advertising, and I particularly dislike "Power Rangers".  Totally beyond my capacity for willing suspension. 

On the other hand, and for the very same reasons, I absolutely love "Walker – Texas Ranger".   In very small doses.  Very very small doses, carefully rationed, at the end of the week, when the frustrations of reality need to be diluted. 

Walker sets the Benchmark for Bad Acting (Power Rangers aside).  Also for the Worst Directing and and the Worst Theme Song, (performed by the Nearly Worst Singer). Oh, and the Worst Dialogue with the Most Fatuous Platitudes.  And Worst Plots,  and Worst Characterisation, and and and…

I watched the credits this evening for the first time, and I realised that almost all of the above are directly attributable to the very versatile Chuck Norris himself.  He even performs the Theme Song!  What a man!  He excels at being bad at EVERYTHING. Writing, directing, acting (with special effort award for not expressing emotion) and Singing! Outstanding!

Exception: Kicking Arse.  Even the Power Rangers can’t out-kick Chuck. 

But I wish he would shave off that silly beard. 

I wonder if he wrote the lyrics too? (I do believe he did).

In the eyes of a ranger,
The unsuspecting stranger,
Had better know the truth of wrong from right,

‘Cause the eyes of a ranger are upon you,
Any wrong you do, he’s gonna see,
When you’re in Texas, look behind you,

‘Cause that’s where the ranger’s gonna be.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

