Mundane Maunder.

The weather is really hotting up.  I am finding it distinctly warm, and the aircon is now on in the office, but despite this, everyone is saying "It is not hot yet – wait until the warm weather comes around September".  I can believe it.  I recall arriving in Solomon Islands on September 18 1984 and being completely blown away by the heat and humidity.  Despite drinking copiously, for the first few days I did not pee. 

Nonetheless, it is pretty tropical here now, and coming home, I must open the doors on both sides of the house to let the evening breeze cool the rooms.  Now my windows are kept shut all day, it is stifling in the house.  I have to close the doors again fairly soon after the breeze eases.  They are not screened as the windows are, and mossies come in.  or else the breeze blows the smoke from the mosquito coils away, leaving me undefended.  At least with screened windows open, I did not have that problem.  I could, of course, go round the house opening them all but I am now paranoid enough to be worried I might have a night visitor, or worse, I may forget to shut them all again in the morning before I leave. Of course a night visitor would be facing an angry irishman armed with a Swordfish bill and a dive knife.  Would I really be brave/stupid enough to face, even with weapons, a desperate Fijian?  Probably.  And i would likely lose. 

The police told me this morning it was actually a boy and a girl who broke in.  One of them must have been pretty slim to get through the burglar bars.  But that accounts for the theft of my "perfumes"..

When I am in NZ I shall get some of those window locks that will allow me to lock the windows in an open position.  I may see if I can find some here on the weekend.  . 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

