Changes II

One little project I undertook over the holidays, and a pleasant though frustrating diversion it was, was to try and photographically document the lifecycle of the Monarch Butterfly.  Yet despite hours of watching and waiting I always missed the particular moment I wanted to capture.  I was keen to watch the transition from butterfly to chrysalis.  It is such a dramatic and radical change.  But I seemed to miss it every time.  I can tell you this; when it happens, it happens really quickly.  In fact it seems to take only about the time one needs to make a tomato sandwich, or go for a pee.  Each time the caterpillars waited until I was hungry or busting. So I missed the very moment I was so eager to see, though a couple of times I returned just as the transition had started, and I could watch the procedure progress. 
 
My advice to anyone wanting to photograph the exact moment of change – take sandwiches and a bottle to pee in, and don’t leave until it happens. 
 
So with my camera on a tripod, with natural light, I took the photos I present here for your edification and delight.   The location of my swanplants, the poor lighting and generally rotten conditions (including lousy weather) did not give me much leeway for amazing photography.  But here you are. I hope at least you find them interesting. 
 
In all, I believe I am foster father to some 68 Monarch butterflies.  I lost only two chrysalises out of those that formed.  Something (possibly a cat?) destroyed them. Also a few caterpillars went astray.  Perhaps across the wallto the neighbour’s side.  I hope they found a good place to pupate.
About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changes II

  1. Pingback: My New Header | Flitting Amongst The Swanplants

  2. Pingback: Experience it or Film it? | Flitting Amongst The Swanplants

Please comment!

